Invitation to the Annual General Meeting of Commerzbank on 8 May 2018 Inbox x

  • Infrastructure
  • 28.03.2018 07:38 am

Commerzbank AG invites its shareholders to the regular Annual General Meeting in Messehalle 11 (Portalhaus) in Frankfurt/Main on Tuesday, 8 May 2018. The agenda includes the presentation of the consolidated and individual financial statements for 2017 and the ratification of the actions by the corporate bodies.

Of particular note are the following additional items on the agenda:

Resolution on the use of distributable profits 

The Board of Managing Directors and the Supervisory Board of Commerzbank propose that the distributable profits of approximately €88.1 million for the financial year 2017 as reported in the annual financial statements pursuant to the German Commercial Code (HGB) be allocated in full to the revenue reserves. The purpose of this is to facilitate the implementation of the “Commerzbank 4.0” strategy and to strengthen the Bank’s equity capital.

New election of members of the Supervisory Board 

The term in office of all members of the Supervisory Board representing the shareholders ends at the conclusion of the Annual General Meeting on 8 May 2018, and consequently a new election by the general shareholders’ meeting is required. The term of the newly elected Supervisory Board members will again be five years and will end with the Annual General Meeting which will decide on the ratification of actions for the fiscal year 2022.

The Supervisory Board proposes to the Annual General Meeting that the following persons be elected to the Supervisory Board as shareholder representatives: Sabine U. Dietrich (former member of the Board of Managing Directors of BP Europe SE), Dr. Tobias Guldimann (independent consultant in the financial sector), Dr. Rainer Hillebrand (member of the Board of Managing Directors of the Otto Group, Vice Chairman of the Board of Managing Directors), Dr. Markus Kerber (State Secretary at the Federal Ministry of the Interior, Building and Community with effect from 1 April 2018), Anja Mikus (Chief Executive Officer/Chief Investment Officer of the public endowment “Fonds zur Finanzierung der kerntechnischen Entsorgung” (Nuclear Waste Disposal Fund)), Dr. Victoria Ossadnik (Chief Executive Director of the Board of Managing Directors, E.ON Energie Deutschland GmbH with effect from 1 April 2018), Dr. Stefan Schmittmann (former member of the Board of Managing Directors of Commerzbank AG), Robin J. Stalker (former member of the Board of Managing Directors of adidas AG), Nicholas Teller (Chairman of the Advisory Board of E. R. Capital 

Holding GmbH & Cie. KG) and Dr. Gertrude Tumpel-Gugerell (former member of the Executive Board of the European Central Bank).

If the Annual General Meeting accepts these proposals, there will be four new shareholder representatives on the Supervisory Board, namely Dr. Rainer Hillebrand, Dr. Victoria Ossadnik, Dr. Stefan Schmittmann and Robin J. Stalker. Karl-Heinz Flöther, Dr. Stefan Lippe, Klaus-Peter Müller and Dr. Helmut Perlet will leave the Supervisory Board at the conclusion of this year’s Annual General Meeting. If elected, Dr. Schmittmann will be proposed to the members of the Supervisory Board as its Chairman.

Shareholders who have registered by the end of 1 May 2018 are entitled to participate in the Annual General Meeting and to exercise voting rights. The speeches of the Chairman of the Supervisory Board and the Chairman of the Board of Managing Directors at the Annual General Meeting may be viewed live on the internet on 8 May 2018 from 10.00 a.m. onwards at Both speeches will be given in German only. The hashtag on Twitter for the Annual General Meeting is #CobaHV.

The full text of the invitation to the Annual General Meeting 2018, including the agenda and details of the individual agenda items can also be found at 

Related News