ING reports changes in Executive Board

  • Banking
  • 15.03.2017 06:30 am

ING will propose to the 2017 Annual General Meeting (AGM) on 8 May 2017 to appoint Koos Timmermans and Steven van Rijswijk as members of the Executive Board. Upon appointment they will also become members of the Management Board Banking of ING. Koos Timmermans will become chief financial officer as of the date of the AGM, succeeding Patrick Flynn who has decided to pursue his career outside of ING. Steven van Rijswijk will become chief risk officer as of 1 August 2017, succeeding Wilfred Nagel, who will retire as of that date.  

ING also proposes to the AGM to re-appoint Ralph Hamers, currently CEO of ING, to the Executive Board for a next period of four years. Ralph Hamers was appointed to the Executive Board at the AGM in 2013 and became its chairman and CEO on 1 October 2013.  

Koos Timmermans (Dutch, 1960) is currently vice-chairman of ING's Management Board Banking and is responsible for ING Bank's operations in the Benelux as well as for aligning ING Bank's activities and balance sheet with new and upcoming regulation. Koos Timmermans started his career with ING in 1996. He was a member of the Executive Board of ING Group and chief risk officer from 2007 until 2011, when he was appointed to his current role. In 2014 he assumed responsibility for the bank's operations in the Benelux. Next to his new role as chief financial officer, he will remain vice-chairman of the Management Board Banking.

Steven van Rijswijk (Dutch, 1970) currently is global head of Client Coverage within ING Wholesale Banking. Steven joined ING in 1995 in the Corporate Finance team, holding various positions in the Mergers & Acquisitions and Equity Capital Markets space. In 2010 Steven became head of the Capital Structuring and Advisory team and in 2012 became global head of Corporate Clients. In 2014 he assumed his current role, becoming responsible for relationship management, transaction services and corporate finance for corporate clients and financial institutions in over 40 countries, while being a member of the Global Credit Committee and the Wholesale Banking Executive Team. Steven holds a master's degree in business economics from Erasmus University Rotterdam. 

Patrick Flynn became a member of the Executive Board and its chief financial officer in 2009 following a career at KPMG and HSBC. Wilfred Nagel joined ING in 1991 and held several international roles across the bank. In 2011 he became its chief risk officer and in 2012 was appointed to the Executive Board. 

Jeroen van der Veer, Chairman of the Supervisory Board of ING Group commented: "I want to thank both Patrick and Wilfred for their valuable contributions over the past years, transforming ING into a leading pan-European bank with the robust financial foundation it has today. Patrick played a fundamental role in our restructuring and divestment programmes while Wilfred was pivotal in diversifying ING's balance sheet, reducing the volatility of ING's capital and results. I am confident that Koos Timmermans and Steven van Rijswijk will successfully continue the acceleration of our Think Forward strategy, enhancing the customer experience and driving change. As part of a strong and dedicated team I am sure they will build on the success of ING as one of the digital leaders in the financial industry."



Related News